top of page

Goodbyes


Alex Mockler

My dearest Alex, for three years I worked tirelessly with you to bring our visions of the theatre to life. You stood by my side on the Imbrolgio stage as one of the Creatures of the Media, you allowed me to open up about my insecurities in the directing peers assessment, and when I needed to replace Gergana for "Hear", you stepped up and helped me realise that my play could be performed in gender natural, and gave it your all despite the limited rehearsal time. To say nothing of how you helped me escape my cage and embrace the everyday life of Bedford; teaching my your street lingo, helping me make sense of The Subway menu, letting me be part of the Squad, playing your part in keeping my surprise party a secret from me, and going to see movie like The Accountant, Logan, Infinity War and Deadpool 2 with me and others, as well as always having my back when I was feeling down.

You've been the bestest friend I could of ever had; There will always be a seat for you at my dinner table my friend, my partner-in-crime, my brother.

Replay: "Ahh man; how do I reply to such a beautiful message? You’ve kept me grounded more than you will ever know. Just knowing I have a mate like you will always fill my heart with love and joy! You’ve been so great over the last 3 years and being part of your progress fills me with great pride and happiness. Forever my closest friend."

Rita Narciso

Oh, my Rita. The friendship we formed is so strong, that I don't even remember when we actually started talking to each other in First Year. It just feels like we've always known each other. I know it's not true, because I know my life before Bedford University would have been a lot happier with you in it. You've always accepted me for being me, and made me feel good about myself because of it. Whether it be by consultant me about the pain in my head and heart, or by keeping me smiling by being so unashamingly you, you've been a big help getting me out of my shell these past three years together.

I'm very fond of you, Rita. You're like the sister I never had. Not in that I never had a sister, I have three that I like a lot. But none of them are like you. You're nicer and more open to some craziness. Never stop being you, cabra.

Replay: "Ohhh tommy! You are to kind! I'm so glad I got to call you my friend!!! You are amazing and I honestly wish the best of this world for you babe! You will always have a house in Portugal tommy 💜 love you and already miss you 😘 xxxxx"

Megan McPhee

My dearest, Megan, the first and last person I spoke to in my academic journey. And the things we filled between those two conversations; discussing the more ludicrous plotlines of EastEnders, competing to be the most loved Third Year by the Second Years, and exchanging only the shadiest of banter. Not to mention our work with Adela, Same Old Story and The Ballad Goes Wrong. And also you showing me those amazing songs you enjoy, some of them now in my Awesome Mix Playlist, and making it hard to watch Matt Smith in Doctor Who without thinking about Alex Mockler. I think my time at Bedford University would have been a lot duller without you.

Replay: "Oh Thomas I'm glad we have so many memories to look back on, my time at uni most definitely would not have been the same without you! Thanks for being fantastic 💕"

Emma Madison

My Easter Egg, Time Traveling Mother, P.A.L. Peer, fellow technician, and friendly rival. Oh, Emma, will we ever be rid of one another. ;) It seems we were fated to walk the same path at different paces; we were both student representatives, both had tutelage under Jamie and Alex, both P.A.L. Leaders, both serves time with Musical Theatre Society. No wonder we were partners in the First Year Duologues, being attracted to so many similar things. With such a strong working relationship, it's no small surprise that you came closer than many to seeing the real me beneath the cheery demeanour I employ to protect myself from the hardships of the cruel reality we dwell in from the day they arrive on the planet, blinking, stepping into the sun, with so much more to see than can ever be seen, more to do than-- no, hold on. Sorry, that's The Lion King. But the point still stands.

And the laughs we had at Empire; you outracing me to that Where's Wally poster, and me getting my belated revenge by subtly sneaking ahead of you in the queue. Believe it or not, I still remember our first one-on-one talk in First Year, when I was waiting for my taxi and you the bus in Gateway. We talked about nerd culture and that paper plate randomly rolled passed the window like tumbleweed. Weird. Thank you for always being there when it was my turn for a comforting cuddle, and for being so loving when I needed some kind words to cheer me up.

I've seen a lot of workers at Bedford University; good workers, bad workers, fake workers and would-be workers; out of all that, out of that whole pantheon, if I believe in one thing... just one thing... I believe in you, Great Supremo.

Replay: "Oh Thomas that is one of the sweetest things someone has ever said about. I could not imagine what uni would have been like if I did not have you in my class. You somehow always knew when I needed to have a friend to come cheer me up or have a hug. If there is one thing i believe in is that you are the kindest person that had every walked this planet and you will do amazing things. Also love that you somehow got loin king in there haha ❤"

Rachel Kirk

Oh Rachel, I think you had the biggest impact on my experience at Bedford University more than anyone; without your advice to do so, I never would have signed up to be a Fresher's Angel, would never have won Fresher's Angel of the Year, would not have had the close relationship with the Student Union that I did, and never would have been the choice to win the Executive Award at the Student Awards of 2018. A domino effect started purely because Rachel Kirk gave me some good advice.

And that's not to say that that's where Rachel's kindness ends. Far from it. Every time I felt like I was worthless or that I didn't belong at Bedford University, Rachel was there. Every time I needed to hear a comforting word or need to feel protected from something, Rachel was there. Every time it was my turn to have someone make me smile, Rachel was there. Rachel is one of the kindest, most intelligent and most open people I have ever met; so funny and bright. I know she'll do well in life.

Well, Rachel, it would seem that our journey together is reaching its natural end. Soon we'll go our separate ways to find our place in the world. If the fates be kind, perhaps those paths will be closely linked. Until we find out, have a good time and enjoy yourself.

Replay: "Thomas my sweet angel! Nothing is ever going to stop me from being in your life, you are stuck with me mate😂 will always love you❤❤❤"

Siân Price

Sian, you are one-in-a-million. Working so hard for three years at university, maintaining a healthy and still loving relationship, all while commuting between Bedford and your hometown. And still keeping a level head and an unwavering kindness while you did it. Every time I felt like the university work was getting hard, I thought of you, and about all the extra work you go through, and that inspired me to keep going forward and stay on track. Thank you for being such a good influence over the years, Sian.

I think you and I were always meant to be friends, and I hope things stay like that for a very long time.

Replay: "My dearest Thomas, you too are one in a million!! Our stars were always destined to be friends, and forever friends we shall be. Your kind words have brought a happy and loving tear to my eye, it brings me so much joy to be able to be an influence on you - although completely unaware of it until now. I hope you know that you have made all the hard days I’ve faced over the 3 years, happy days, purely from seeing you and getting one of those famous bear hugs. You make me feel unbelievably calm and at peace with the universe and I shall never let go of someone so special such as you. ❤"

Hannah Rosen

Oh, Hannah. Always staying true to who you are, and working tirelessly, even when there is no reward in it for you. I'll always treasure the work we did together for Imbroglio, Same Old Story, Cassie, and Directing Peers with Harry, Gergana, and Alex, as well all the fun we had at the parties at the Hub, Empire, Vibe, Shakespeare Road, Park Road West, and Portland Close.

I hope one day we can do a Stand-Up routine together somewhere where no one knows us, and we can joke around with no one expecting us to do something we've been typecast too. Until that day, stay well, my friend.

Replay: "Thomas, I have so much love and respect for you. Even if I never work with anyone half as brilliant as you are again, I'm still blessed because of all the times I have had the privilege of working with you. Our directing peers group is one of the happiest times I've had here and memories for life.

There may not always be a reward, but it almost certainly is always rewarding. ❤

I hope we do a Stand-up routine together too, write a show and take it on tour. We’ll surprise everyone. We’ll sell out every night because no doubt everyone will hear about how brilliant you are. Stay happy always. 💕"

Emily Bass

Oh, Emily; she who deceived the deceiver. We didn't get to work together that much during our three years at Bedford University; I think that's one of the few things I would change if I could. But, what we lacked in a working relationship, we made up for in a sociable one. If it weren't for you, I would never have got the surprise party I had always wanted, nor would I have got my most treasured possession; The Birthday Book. There is nothing in the world I can give to return such a gesture of friendship and affection. Thank you.

From Boy and Dinosaur, to Clueless Teacher and Flirtatious Student, to Director and Actor, to Community Workshop planners, to Student Representatives, we've shared some good times. I hope one day we unit to share some more. Until then, Sheriff.

Replay: "Oh Thomas, you are so so kind! I agree I would change how much we worked together too! But I have loved every minute of being your friend!! I am so so lucky to have met you and know you because you are the most amazing person I will ever meet! Thank you for all your care, passion and love you give to everyone!! Till we meet again friend ❤"

Despoina Natsiou

Oh, Despoina, my Despoina. You were in my first group project with the university, and stayed by my side despite my repeated butchery of your name, and trying to stick "Dezzy" as a colonised nickname. Throughout my first year at university, we continued to work together with ease. Even when you joined the performing artist for the second year onwards, fate sought to unite us again and again. And when everyone jokily called you "the traitor", all I ever saw you as was the class's "lost treasure". Thank you for always being there when I needed someone to lift me back up, and for showing me nothing but the love and affection I had so sought for all my life. I hope your future is a bright and joyous as you made me during our time at Bedford University.

They say when someone is meant to be in your life they gravitate back towards you, no matter the difference, I think they had you and me in mind, my lost treasure.

Replay: "Omg Thomas James Barnett!! I love you so much! ♥ I’m so glad I was lucky enough to meet to and even more to be able to call you my friend!! It’s been a pleasure working with you, such a hardworking and extremely intelligent person, but more importantly having you in my life, giving love and support to me and everyone else around you, has shown me that there is still kindness around me!! You will always be my best friend no matter where in the world we end up! I’m not even wishing for a bright future for you as I’m sure it will be my little star!!♥"

Dom Giddings

My fellow Gemini, for three years we have studied together as god friends, and yet the most memorable moment everyone seems to associate us with is the day I accidently dislocated your shoulder. But, then again, I was giving you a friendly pat on the back as encouragement; it was only due to the heat of the moment that I forgot about your shoulder injury. Oh, well, still got an award for best injury, so that's something. Besides, we know we shared better times than that; all those Portland Close and Shakespeare Road parties, being in each other's first group project with the uni when did that presentation for JM with Despoina, me helping you with your dissertation, playing husband and wife in Cassie, and sharing married couple jokes during rehearsals. Not to mention the recurring joke of us getting a sitcom called "Dom and Tom" and my atrocious attempt to write a theme song; "They're Dom and Tom, yes, Dom and Tom; one is not the other!" Yes, they were a good three years. Thank you for sharing them with me.

Replay: "thank you for an amazing three years Thomas, thank you for being you and thank you for being a great friend and creating so many amazing memories with me. love you xx"

Elizabeth Perrott-Griffiths

PG, always working so tireless, and a bit frighteningly, to bring the shows to life, never giving anything but her all to have the show go on. We had our ups and downs on the journey, but I still wouldn't things one bit. All our debates over which version of Harry Potter had the better ending (still the film!), constantly discussing the ridiculousness of societies' role on gender inequality and how it shouldn't matter what someone else is doing when it's not hurting someone, and enjoying the Secret Santa of the first year. All that time, you were always being you, never yielding to the societal "norms" of your gender. There isn't a thing I'd change about you, as I have and always will say; "I like PG just the way she is". Keep fighting the good fight, my friend.

Replay: "Awwwww Thomas that was the best thing to wake up to!!! You should never change either my good man!! By far you have the biggest heart of the class, you made sure we always got birthday cards without fail and got everyone to sign which is one of the sweetest things I have ever seen! You always cared so deeply about us all and made us all fall in love with you. You truly are a treasure Thomas I am honoured to have met you 💖 despite you choosing the wrong ending in Harry Potter!!"

Helena Hipólito

Helena, for starters, I'm sorry I colonised your name for pretty all the three years we knew it each other. I hope you know that using the H was out of habit and not malice. Now that that's out of the way, I think what I'll miss most about you is how passionate you were about your craft. Sure, it lead to a few disagreements between us, but, if you ask me, it's better to work with someone who will disagree with you and challenge the decisions you make than someone who will just blindly follow you. Thank you for the challenge, it really did help me grow as a practitioner.

Replay: "Oh Thomas James Barnett, YOU have such a good heart and hunger to learn and grow that was really my pleasure to be your partner in anything and that's why I could not do my last project without you being part of it.... I am sorry if I could get sometimes impatient and for sometimes be missed understood, but I loved that you always knew how to come to me and talk it through. Thomas Barnett you are a Star, so keep illuminating the people in your life and don't leave the dark demons of the world to obfuscate your light. That the Fairies take care of you filling your life with lots of Love and Art 🌟💖"

Gytis Gedminas

Gytis, I still feel honoured that you took time on what was meant to be your last day to see me (though I'm equally sure you told me cause you knew I'd blab and let your arrival at Pizza Hut be even more surprising). It was a privilege to get to know you, and work with you in all these years, though now we shall forever be in contest to determine the true destroyer of the Lantern. ;) Take care, my friend.

Dancers

Dearest Dancers, I think my sole regret from my time at the university is that our two classes never shared an activity based class together, only lectures where we were seated and had to remain silent. To think what we could have learnt from one another; Theatre could have taught you about the character interpretation of Stanislavski and Grotowski, and you could have taught us how dance opens up the audience to new ways of storytelling. C'est la vie. At least we shared the stage together, and your shows were the best I have ever seen, and gave me momemts of calm between all the assigments I had to do during the three years of study. Thank you for that.

Performing Artists

My dearest cousins in the Performing Arts, I wanted to thank you for our three years together as occasional classmates, and fulltime friends. Be it working under Sam Turton or Richard Mann, our alliance stood strong; never was it Theatre vs. Performing Artists, it was always students working together to bring new shows to life. The support that we showed for one another during stressful times of rehearsal, and attendance at each other's shows, is a testimony to the strong bonds we have formed as a united front of the Drama Course of Bedford University. I know for a fact that my university experience would have felt incomplete without each and every one of you. Thank you for the laughs, the tears, the experience, and the triumphs.

EndFragment

bottom of page