top of page

Goodbye, Third Year


Well, the end has come for my Third Year at Bedford University, and let me tell you, if Second Year was all about finding my inner peace, Third Year was about learning to live with it through self-discovery and the support of still very much valued and trusted friends. I've done a lot of work to improve myself this year, such as taking a good look at the consequences of my actions, apologising for... past wrongs I made, and trying to improve the situation with my home life, no matter how drastic the actions taken have to be for now. I don't even need to take my anxiety medicine anymore. Yes, this year has been filled with many highlight moments; I served as the Fresher's Angel of the Year, came second in the Lip Sync battle, was the fan-demanded victor of the Talent Show, was named the Funniest and Friendliest PAL Leader, won the Executive Award at the Beds SU Award Show, helped the new first years as a confidant and a Peer Assisted Learning Leader, became a regular at The Place Theatre, met the Zoo Co. company, worked with great actors and directors in my class, went to London with the Man Cave, saw the midnight screenings of Justice League and Infinity War with my friends, completed a 1200 worded Dissertation, had the honour of being the only Theatre Student in recent history to be invited to the Dance Awards, and finally had my childhood dream of a surprise birthday party being thrown for me come to fruition. Indeed, my time at Bedford University has been so rewarding and self-fulfilling. Which makes what I'm about to announce even harder… I will not be returning to Bedford University for the next academic year; the Theatre MA Course will be going on a year-long hiatus due to lack of full time staff and the desire to revamp it and see how it can be improved. Instead, I have the option of taking a gap year and getting some experience in the world before returning for the 2020 Academic Year, or to apply for a MA Course in Luton called Screen Performance and Communication Techniques, that teaches about performing to a camera and opens up a lot of work opportunities, and then return to Bedford for the 2020 Academic Year if I so choose too. I know this is a lot to take in, and I was shocked when I was told too, but life is all about change and the unexpected, no matter how frightening it can seem. You may miss me, and I will definitely miss all of you that are staying in Bedford, but let us not be sad that something is ending. Let us be happy that is happened. I will visit Bedford campus whenever I can, and will always be contactable if I am needed. But, I know that you will all do well without me. You've all come so far, and the absence of one person isn't going to stop you. With that said, I official name Harry Whittaker my successor as "the Thomas"; he's approachable, has a similar style of acting and directing as I do, and was my actor in my Second Year show, where he played a fictionalised version of me, so he knows a lot about being Thomas already. I also name Jack Doyle the new heart of Bedford University, for his kindness and hugging abilities that bring warmth to even the coldest of days. Just remember, life is like riding down a stream of rapids. Its full of twists and turns, and can be a struggle to stay afloat in a straight line. Sometimes you have to go under the water just to survive long enough, but you always need to resurface for air, and as long as you're breathing, there is a chance to pull through. Do not try to fight the river of life, just remain aware of your surroundings and use the rapids to your advantage to guide you as best you can through the stream until you reach calm waters and leave the river. For as in life, all unexpected events are an opportunity to be taken, whatever the risk of failure. This is Thomas James Barnett, wishing you all only the very best out of life, and thanking you all for making this last year a memorable one.

StartFragment

EndFragment

Barnett would later be accepted onto the Screen Performance and Communication Technique Master Class in Luton, but would continue to live at the Bedford Campus, making his way to his classes via train and bus travel.

bottom of page