top of page

"The Boy and the Trees"

A poem inspired by President Romana's "The Gallifreyan Hermit". (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9vhlzMnE8M)

"When I was a boy in Milton Keynes, I had to face my blackest day. Which turned out to be the best day of them all. I lived in a house full of love and affection, bur underneath a shadow of darkness that made everything seem so grey and bleak and cold. I'll never forget what it was like in there.

And at the back of the house stood three ancient-like trees, as brittle and dry as leaves in the autumn air, which I'd always dismissed as insignificant.

And as I faced my darkest fears, too upset even for tears, I looked at the trees for wisdom beyond his years.

I saw the trees with newfound eyes, and saw their lifeless bodies glowed with life; birds making nests, squirrels foraging for food, and insects making the lifeless husks home. A perfect image I've treasured all these years. And the colours of the leaves were richer than I'd ever known, so deep and pure I could not help but smile.

So I leapt up high, ran back inside. What was grey was now red, purple, and blue, what was cold was now warm and embracive. A revelation I can still recall, when my blackest day saw colour after all.

Seeing beauty in all creation is the lesson that the broken boy learned."

StartFragment

EndFragment

bottom of page